Do you have time for a Blueberry Breakfast Smoothie?

Posted on August 22, 2011

2


Good morning!

I made this smoothie on one of those mornings where I woke up to meet the sun and go for a run — not this morning, where I’m sitting on my bum in front of the computer with a cup of coffee and a bagel smothered in strawberry jam.

I feel lucky, though, that I have the time to enjoy both kinds of mornings. I cringe when I remember how I used to drag myself through regimented nine-to-five days. Morning is my favorite time of day for so many reasons (mostly because of breakfast!), and I am truly thankful that I often have several mornings to myself during the week on days when I go into work for the later shift.

My flexible work schedule is a luxury. I totally appreciate that, and “I” includes my tummy. I mean it. I really think that having a morning off every so often, off from jumping out of bed and through the door to get to work on time, makes a difference in my diet.

When I’ve got a few morning hours stretching out in front me, I don’t have to eat breakfast until I actually feel hungry, and even then I can take my time preparing and enjoying something delicious, instead of scarfing down a quick breakfast during the morning rush. On top of that, I can think ahead towards my next meals. Instead of eating out for lunch, I can prepare something from home, and lately, since I’ve had the time, I’ve even been starting dinner before leaving for work.

Oh, I appreciate that I’ve got it good at the moment. I used to be a part of the predominant work culture in this country — the one that does not cater to good eating habits at all. Whether it’s rushing through breakfast to get to work, rushing through lunch break to get back to work, or rushing through the drive-thru for dinner on the way home from work, most of us don’t really have time to eat, period, let alone cook and eat real food.

Employers would be smart to consider the fact that well-fed employees are happy employees. Honestly, a thirty-minute lunch break at a desk, resulting in crumbs on the keyboard, greasy finger stains on paperwork, and that inevitable coffee spill, just isn’t pretty. 

Can you believe that the company where my husband works buys lunch for its employees every single day? (Jealous.) They also have indoor and outdoor eating spaces, endless tea and coffee supplies, and have adjusted working hours to an eight-to-four day, and boy, does that make it easier to get home to cook and eat at a regular hour! My husband says that company has some of the happiest employees he has ever met in the United States.

It’s true, I’ll admit it, we usually aren’t the happiest bunch…but I really don’t believe it’s because we wake up on the wrong side of bed; it’s because we wake up on the wrong side of bread. The working culture here makes us put work priorities before the priorities of eating well, but the body won’t let us forget that it needs to attend to a regular eating schedule like it’s its job, too.

The good news is this smoothie is a good start to any kind of morning — even if it’s the kind where you hit the pavement with your running shoes on just because you are late for work.

Blueberry Breakfast Smoothie

1 ripe banana
1 cup blueberries, frozen
3/4 cup old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup greek yogurt (I used blueberry flavor)
1/2 cup ice
splash of milk
granola for topping (optional)

Combine banana, blueberries, ice, yogurt, and milk in a blender. Blend until combined. Makes two servings.

