How many Chicken Salad Sandwiches can I eat after a five mile hike?

Posted on June 5, 2011

2


I went on a wonderful hike this morning, and I can’t believe I forgot my camera!!! I went to Caumsett State Park and hiked five miles, through tall grasses, around forests densely packed with tulip trees, honeysuckle, and wild rose, into the muddy salt marsh, along the rocky beach, up to the highest cliff, past a grand estate mansion, and alongside horses grazing in their stables. We saw chipmunks, a fox, a deer, a red winged blackbird and heard plenty of other flying friends chirping in the trees.

Waking up early to do all that was definitely worth it, even though I’m not really a hiker, per se. I don’t have any fancy hiking boots or special knowledge about how to pick out a walking stick. I’m not really one of those high-energy hiker people who are always seeking out a new vista, a higher plain, or that lookout point just over the next hill.

I could be one of those people. Maybe. Maybe if… I get to eat like a hiker. I mean, hiking burns a lot of calories, right? Don’t you need all those high energy snacks to keep you going? I mean snacking is basically required! I hardly ever get to feel deserving of a snack, but hikers get lots of yummy snacks like dried fruit and granola bars and even chocolate! One of my fellow hikers offered me a nibble of just that, a fruit and nut mix with dried apricots, cranberries, and almonds. I totally accepted.

The info we received pre-hike also forwarned us to pack a lunch. Now that’s my kind of exercise… beautiful scenery, wonderful company, lots of snacks, and a post-hike lunch to look forward to! I mean, you deserve it, you hiker, you! You just schlepped five entire miles for fun. Enjoy that chicken salad sandwich…or two!

Chicken Salad
with Onion, Raisins, and Parsley

1 cup cooked chicken, chopped
1/2 small onion, chopped
1/4 cup raisins
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, finely chopped
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
1 1/2 tablespoons sour cream
1 teaspoon lemon juice
Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Combine chicken, onion, raisins, and parsley in a small bowl. In a separate bowl, combine mayo, sour cream, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. Combine dressing with chicken mixture. Makes enough for two chicken salad sandwiches.


By the way, have you ever heard of orienteering? Apparently it is an Olympic sport! there were several participants crawling around the park while we were on our hike today participating in what seems to me to be a competitive scavenger hunt! I wonder what orienteerer(erers?) like to eat. Maybe wild berries… or chicken salad sandwiches.

