When life gives you lemons, make Lemon Curd?

Posted on May 1, 2011

0


When life gave me lemons and egg yolks, I made Lemon Curd! It felt good not waste all those egg yolks…especially after my not-so-successful attempt with the egg whites in Angel Food Cake.

My week turned out to be much like, “if you give a mouse a cookie…” I gave myself a challenge with something new, and then something else new came out of that, and then I had to figure out how to use up all this new stuff! The motivation was never ending.

I spread it on toast, over my Angel Food half-a-cake, and this morning, with strawberry sauce over crepes. I am also thinking of making wonton cups filled with lemon curd and topped with a raspberry for dessert later tonight! Lemon curd can also be used as filling in layer cakes. Now that sounds yummy!

I read recipes from a few sources around the web, including chefs Alton Brown and David Lebovitz, as well as a few food blogs: Good Life Eats, Poor Girl Eats Well, and Forrked… the recipe that follows is kind of a hybrid of what I learned from them!

Lemon Curd

4 egg yolks (I had jumbo eggs)
1/2 cup lemon juice (I got enough from 3 lemons)
1 tablespoon lemon zest (I got enough from 2 lemons)
3/4 cups sugar
6 tablespoons butter, divided

Combine the egg yolks, juice, zest and sugar in a medium saucepan. Whisk together until smooth.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until the mixture coats the back of a spoon, about 8 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the butter one tablespoon at a time, allowing each to melt before adding the next. Lemon curd will keep for 1 week in the fridge, or up to 4 weeks in the freezer.

Tagged: ,