Orzo Almond Pilaf…Orzo I thought?

Posted on March 6, 2011

1


This is a disclaimer: I made up this recipe. Not as in it is make-believe, but as in, I didn’t get it from any other source. I am surprising myself by finding this is happening more and more often. I have a few ingredients, then before I know it, I also have a yummy dish. Sometimes I’m not even sure where the idea comes from or how the cooking process happens.

I have an inkling though…

I have tailored my online world to feed me thousands of food-related images and ideas daily. My Google Reader stats claim that in the last thirty days I have read 1,607 items. A portion of those are news items (I promise), but I do subscribe to twenty-five and counting food blogs directly, plus Tastespotting.com, which links me to untold numbers of other people writing about what they have cooked and eaten. I will admit that my favorite cookbook is the archive of starred items on my Google Reader and is often the first recipe source I consult. I also get daily emails from Food52 (food52.com) and FoodBuzz (foodbuzz.com).

I feel like I am almost at my limit for online content relating to food. I wasn’t always at this kind of height, except for when I got dropped out of a high-flying all-meals-inclusive flight (without a parachute!) into a kitchen all of my own. It was then that I enrolled in the online crash course on how-to-make-something-that-looks-this-good.

Has all this food-related contented invaded my subconscious? It seems so.

Orzo Almond Pilaf with Kale

8 oz Orzo pasta
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 anchovy filets
1 small onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
½ cup kale, chopped to thin strips
½ cup vegetable broth (or water)
¼ cup sliced almonds
Salt and pepper, to taste
Parmesan cheese, to taste

Cook pasta according to package directions, until just al dente.

Heat olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add anchovies, and cook until slightly disintegrated. Add onion and and sauté until translucent, about 4 minutes. Add garlic and cook to release fragrance, about thirty seconds. Deglaze pan with white wine vinegar.

Add cooked pasta to skillet, and stir to combine. Place kale over pasta, and slowly pour broth over pilaf. Cover skillet, and let steam 3-4 minutes. Uncover skillet, and stir until kale is combined with pasta. Add salt and pepper to taste. Top with almonds, and cover and cook another 1 minute. Serve with parmesan.

Posted in: Side, Vegetarian