Blueberry Muffins to Fight the Blues?

Posted on March 6, 2011

1


 “I am eating muffins because I am unhappy. Besides, I am particularly fond of muffins.” – The Importance of Being Earnest, Oscar Wilde.

Blue is one my favorite colors, but not really one of my favorite moods. I tend to eat my emotions, like the process of eating your words, which involves stammering and stumbling around (the kitchen) in order to forget what one has said (or felt).

Why is that? I guess because I don’t want to deal with the issue I am facing. However, I have learned that sometimes there is a good reason to feel a bit sad, and it can be helpful to go through that emotion (see Karla McLaren’s The Language of Emotions). Other times, it’s best to combat negative self-talk with positive thinking and to bring your mind back to the present through the practice of mindfulness.

And still other times, it helps to feel the sense of accomplishment that accompanies pulling out a batch of beautifully baked blueberry muffins! A lot of people claim cooking or baking is their form of therapy. I suppose the process of creating something from nothing certainly does warrant a boost in self-esteem.

I may also plug that blueberries are high in antioxidants, and naturally, to have strong mental health, you body needs to be healthy and strong too. I guess it also helps that I found blueberries on sale at my local grocery, so I am in a good financial state of health as well!

I search out this recipe because I wanted muffins that looked big and satisfying. It was also helpful, since I still am not all that agile in the kitchen, that the recipe came from Williams-Sonoma’s The Kids Cookbook. Their recipe actually starts with the direction, “Be sure an adult is nearby to help.”

In honor of the positive thinking technique and with particular mindfulness, I forged ahead on my own, and in fact I am very happy with the results!

Blue-no-more Blueberry Muffins

1 stick unsalted butter, melted
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup, plus 2 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1 egg
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup blueberries, rinsed and dried

Preheat an oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin, or use paper muffin cups.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix with a table fork.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the milk, egg, vanilla, and beat until well blended.

Add the milk mixture, melted butter, and blueberries to the flour mixture, and stir gently until the ingredients are just blended.

Spoon equal amounts of the batter into the muffin cups. Sprinkle the 2 teaspoons sugar evenly over the tops.

Bake the muffins until they are golden and have risen nicely, 18 to 20 minutes. Let the muffins cool for at least 15 minutes before removing them from the pan.

